SUNSCAD Councilors

The SUNSCAD Council is an integral part of the student union that works alongside the Executives. There are 20 positions, separated into 9 Divisional Representatives and 11 Constituency Representatives.

Current 2015-16 Elected SUNSCAD Council Representatives 

 

Art History Rep – Emma Steen (arthistoryrep@sunscad.org)

Design Rep – N/A (designrep@sunscad.org)

Craft Rep – N/A (craftrep@sunscad.org)

Accessibility Rep – Evan Cameron (accessibilityrep@sunscad.org)

Indigenous rep – Aiden Gillis (indigenousrep@susncad.org)

Racialized Rep – Solmaz Asheri (racializedstudentrep@susncad.org)

Member at Large – Gabriel Soligo (memberatlarge@sunscad.org)

MFA Rep – N/A (graduaterep@sunscad.org)

Women’s Rep – Mikayla Halliday (womensrep@sunscad.org)

Film Rep – N/A (filmrep@sunscad.org)

Foundation Rep – N/A (foundationrep@sunscad.org)

International Rep – Xiaoyi Dong (internationalrep@sunscad.org)

Media Art Rep – Lucy Pauker (mediaartsrep@sunscad.org)

Fine Art rep – N/A (fineartrep@sunscad.org)

Mature Student Rep – N/A (maturestudentrep@sunscad.org)

Port Campus rep – N/A (portrep@sunscad.org)

 

Divisional Representatives

  • Art History & Critical Studies Representative
  • Craft Representative
  • Design Representative
  • Fine Art Representative
  • Film Representative
  • Foundation Representative
  • Graduate Representative
  • Media Arts Representative
  • Port Campus Representative

Constituency Representatives

  • Aboriginal Representative
  • Accessibility Representative
  • Black Students’ Representative
  • Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgendered, Queer (LGBTQ) Representative
  • International Students’ Representative
  • Mature Students’ Representative
  • Member at Large
  • Part-time Students’ Representative
  • Students Living in Residence Representative
  • Racialized Students’ Representative
  • Womens’ Representative

Duties of Councilors

  • Act as a liaison between the group of students who are being represented and the Council.
  • Organize a committee, as necessary, to better address the needs of students who are being represented.
  • Maintain the right to receive funding for the students who are being represented.
  • Help the Executive in the dissemination of the information and implementation of campaigns.
  • Maintain the right to sit on University committees as determined by the Council (not including SUNSCAD committees).
  • Be a member of at least two of the following SUNSCAD committees:
    • a) External Committee
    • b) Events Committee
    • c) Communications Committee
    • d) Constitutional Review Committee
    • e) Academic Committee

If you are interested in being part of the SUNSCAD Council, click here for the Nomination form!

Want more information? Contact Tara Fleming at tfleming@nscad.ca or call (902) 494-8132