SUNSCAD Councilors

The SUNSCAD Council is an integral part of the student union that works alongside the Executives. There are 20 positions, separated into 9 Divisional Representatives and 11 Constituency Representatives. There are currently 10 positions filled and 10 positions vacant.

Art History Rep – Erin Riehl (

Craft Rep – Michelle Stanclik (

Design Rep – Robin Gu (

Fine Art Rep – Zoe Newell (

Film Rep – Blossom Mendoza (

Graduate Rep – Merryn Tressider (

Foundation Rep – Stephanie St. Amour (

Media Art Rep – Vacant

Port Campus Rep – Vacant


Indigenous Rep – Darcie Bernhardt (

Accessibility Rep – Dena Roland-Khosravi (

Black Student’s Rep – Vacant

LGBTQ Rep – Eli Warriner (

International Rep –  Vacant

Mature Student Rep – Vacant

Member at Large – Vacant

Part-time Students’ Rep – Vacant

Students Living in Residence Rep – Vacant

Racialized Rep – Vacant

Women’s Rep – Vacant


Divisional Representatives

  • Art History & Critical Studies Representative
  • Craft Representative
  • Design Representative
  • Fine Art Representative
  • Film Representative
  • Foundation Representative
  • Graduate Representative
  • Media Arts Representative
  • Port Campus Representative

Constituency Representatives

  • Indigenous Students’ Representative
  • Accessibility Representative
  • Black Students’ Representative
  • Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Queer (LGBTQ) Representative
  • International Students’ Representative
  • Mature Students’ Representative
  • Member at Large
  • Part-time Students’ Representative
  • Students Living in Residence Representative
  • Racialized Students’ Representative
  • Women’s Representative


Duties of Councillors

  • Act as a liaison between the group of students who are being represented and the Council.
  • Organize a committee, as necessary, to better address the needs of students who are being represented.
  • Maintain the right to receive funding for the students who are being represented.
  • Help the Executive in the dissemination of the information and implementation of campaigns.
  • Maintain the right to sit on University committees as determined by the Council (not including SUNSCAD committees).
  • Be a member of at least two of the following SUNSCAD committees:
    • a) External Committee (active) 
      • Co-chaired by
        • Kassidy Bernard, President
        • Dena Roland-Khosravi, Accessibility Rep
    • b) Internal Committee
      • Chaired by
        • Michelle Stanclik, Craft Rep
    • c) Constitutional Review Committee (active as By-Law Constitution Committee)
      • Chaired by
        • Isa Wright, VP Academic
    • d) Academic Committee
    • e) Sexual Violence Policy Demand Committee (active for establishment of policy)
      • Co-chaired by
        • Fern Pellerin, VP Cultural
        • Isa Wright, VP Academic

If you are interested in being part of the SUNSCAD Council, click here for the Nomination form! You don’t have to wait for an election to be involved, if you are interested and have filled out the form we can ratify your position at the next council meeting.

Want more information? Contact Tara Fleming at or call (902) 494-8132.